Skip to main content
District

Transportation

Sign-ups for transportation requests have closed.

If you did not complete the signup form please contact your child's school.

 

2023/2024 SCHOOL BUS ROUTES

Thursdays are Early Release days: drop-off times will be 1 hour earlier than listed.
Early Release starts – September 14th, 2023

Please have students at bus stops 5 minutes prior to pick-up time.


Astoria School District Bus pick-up/drop-off times are available for download below. 

  • Bus schedule changes must be made through your student’s school.

    Transportation Department Contact Information:

    35062 HWY 101 Business

    503-325-4550

    Transportation Director: Rhonda Hageman

    rhageman@astoriak12.org

  • Transportation Services will be provided for students to and from their school of attendance, consistent with Oregon Revised Statute 327.043.

    Transportation Eligibility is based on the distance from a student's home to their school.

    • Elementary Students who live more than one mile from their school are eligible for transportation services.
    • Secondary Students who live more than one and one-half miles from their school are eligible for transportation services.
    • Students requiring specialized transportation as determined by their Individualized Education Program or under the McKinney-Vento Assistance Act are eligible for transportation services.
    • Transportation services are NOT provided to students who are attending outside of their local school district such as courtesy enrollments or transfers from other school districts.

    Distance will be determined by District Transportation practice, in accordance with Oregon Administrative Ruling 581-023-0040 (1)(e).  "Mile(s) from School" means the distance a student lives from school, measured from the closest, reasonable, and prudent point between the school property identified by the local board for that pupil's attendance and the property where the pupil lives.  The distance will be measured over the shortest practical route on maintained public roadways or over existing pedestrian facilities capable of meeting the requirements listed in ORS 332.405  (4). Online mapping services such as Google Maps do not measure the distance to the nearest accessible point of school property and will provide measurements that are significantly different than the measurements used by the School District.

  • All students eligible for transportation service will be assigned to specific bus stops for morning pickup and afternoon drop off.

    For safety reasons:

    • Students will have only one morning pick up and one afternoon drop off location, these can be different for morning and afternoon. (Split family households are the exception, please contact the school)
    • Students will only be picked up and dropped off at their designated stops.
    • Students cannot change bus stop locations from day to day. Any change must be made through the school front office and be a permanent change (more than 30 days)
    • An adult must be present at the bus stop for kindergarten students. If an adult is not present for drop off, the bus will return at the end of the route. If an adult is unavailable, the bus will return the student to the school.
    • Bus drivers are prohibited from adding unscheduled stops to bus routes. Please do not ask them to make stops not on their route.

    Guidelines for walking distances to bus stops are:

    • 3 blocks for elementary students.
    • 4 blocks for middle school students.
    • 5 blocks for high school students.

    A block is 1/10th of a mile, or 528 feet.

    Some students may be assigned to stops that exceed these distances if local street infrastructure does not support school bus travel.  Bus stops will generally not be placed in cul-de-sacs, dead-end streets, or on private roads.

  • Bus schedule changes must be made through your student’s school.

    Any change must be made through the school front office and be a permanent change (more than 30 days)

    For student safety:

    • Students will have only one morning pick up and one afternoon drop off location, these can be different for morning and afternoon. (Split family households are the exception, please contact the school)
    • Students will only be picked up and dropped off at their designated stops.
    • Students cannot change bus stop locations from day to day. Any change must be made through the school front office and be a permanent change (more than 30 days)
    • An adult must be present at the bus stop for kindergarten students. If an adult is not present for drop off, the bus will return at the end of the route. If an adult is unavailable, the bus will return the student to the school.
    • Bus drivers are prohibited from adding unscheduled stops to bus routes. Please do not ask them to make stops not on their route.

ASTORIA SCHOOL DISTRICT 
TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT
STAFF DIRECTORY
Phone: 503-325-4550

Fax: 503-325-6110


Transportation Director – Rhonda Hageman  rhageman@astoriak12.org

Dispatcher – Stacia Walter  swalter@astoriak12.org

Office Assistant/Van Driver – Amy Webb  awebb@astoriak12.org

Mechanic Head – Wesley Patton  wpatton@astoriak12.org

Asst. Mechanic / Bus Driver – Robert Knight   rknight@astoriak12.org

Bus Driver – Ann Bruhn  abruhn@astoriak12.org

Bus Driver – Debra Christensen  dchristensen@astoriak12.org

Bus Driver – Rosanne Demos  rdemos@astoriak12.org

Bus Driver – Roxanne Hartley  rhartley@astoriak12.org

Bus Driver – Bob Johnson  rjohnson@astoriak12.org

Bus Driver – David Mathre  dmathre@astoriak12.org

Bus Driver – James Osborn  josborn@astoriak12.org

Bus Driver – Amie Saarheim  asaarheim@astoriak12.org

Bus Driver – Betty Vinsonhaler  bvinsonhaler@astoriak12.org

Bus Driver – Roilyn Williams rwilliams@astoriak12.org

Bus Driver – Vanessa Ahl  vahl@astoriak12.org

Bus Driver – Darcy Cotte  dcotte@astoriak12.org

Bus Driver – Dustin Lempke dlempke@astoriak12.org

Van Driver – Eugene Crist  ecrist@astoriak12.org

Van Driver – John Meiners  jmeiners@astoriak12.org

Van Driver – Judie Norris  jnorris@astoriak12.org