☰ MENU

District History

   District Celebrates 160th Anniversary
   
  One of the oldest school districts west of the Rockies, Astoria School District No. 1 was formed in 1854.  With a modest first year operating budget of $20, the school had only a few students in regular attendance.  After five years of sharing space with a local church, in 1859 a building was erected on the corner of Ninth and Exchange.  With the addition of another teacher, the school quickly grew to an average of 100 students by 1861.  

In 1873, the district's first principal was hired.  Professor W.L. Worthington, was elected to the position and stayed for several years.  Astoria quickly took pride in their school and steadily supported it with increased taxes.  With the rise of the fishing industry in the 1870's, the school grew quickly and soon different parts of Astoria opened their own schools.

Our district is a fascinating story of the growth of a city that began as a trading post and rose to one of the world's largest fishing grounds.  You can read more about the story of our schools in the Quarterly of the Oregon Historical Society.
   
   Gray Elementary, named after Captain Robert Gray who explored the Oregon Coast in 1788, Gray school is located on the south side of town, 785 Alameda Avenue.  Gray Elementary was built in 1924 and designed by J.E. Wicks, a famous local architect.  After the district wide remodel of all the Astoria schools, both Gray and Astor Elementary especially have been returned to their former glory.  It is now a welcoming building nestled among homes and meandering streets and serves as the district office and the Astoria High School Alternative School. 
   
 

John Jacob Astor established a fur trading post in present day Astoria in 1811.  Named to honor his influences on the establishment of Astoria, Astor Elementary, built in 1925 is a beautiful building that has been featured in several movies. The architecture is quite similar to Gray School as they were both designed by J.E. Wicks.  Astor, which is home for students in grades K-2, is on the east side of town, 3550 Franklin Avenue.  This is the "Kindergarten Cop" school. 

   
   Lewis and Clark School served students living in the outskirts of Astoria and joined Astoria School District in 2000.